top of page

Sista, Sista!

(Alexandra): I don’t like telling people I’m Colombian. They respond by emphasizing on the “A” in Latina or Colombiana. It makes me feel weird. I don’t know what it is. I’d rather just not say anything.

(Me): Do you know why people might do that?

(Alexandra): No, I haven’t thought about it because I can’t stand it. I’d rather just forget about it. Not even put myself in that situation.

(Me): But Alex, I think you should try and figure it out because it’s important. If it doesn’t make you feel good yet you’re telling me that you would like to identify as a Colombiana then let’s do something about it.

(Alexandra): Hmm… is that what you’re doing?

(Me): Yes. I used to feel the way you feel when you hear that emphasis or when someone makes a smart remark. I still do but not as much as I did.

(Alexandra): But Nana, I don’t think that’s what people refer when they do that.

(Me): I know. There is an image of Colombian women, it is hyper sexualized and are first identified by physical attributes. To be honest most women are seen this way we feel it because we are Latinas, we are Colombianas. You know what I do. I just own up to it with sass, girl. I know who I am and where I am going. I am an intelligent woman with goals and aspirations no one can take that from me. You’re the same. You are trying to figure out what you might want to do after high school but where you are now you’re in a good spot. You are doing great things. You have to change that stigma just like I am trying to.

She shot me a wide-eyed look.

(Alexandra): “Really? I’m only 14.”

I laughed.

(Me): It’s okay. There’s no better time to start then now. That’s what my blog is about. It’s my investigation of how we identify with different cultures, specifically the Colombian and American cultures, how we form this connection, how we portray ourselves, and how this shapes our identity(s).

(Alexandra): “Whoa. Can I read your blog?”

 THE MANIFESTO: 

 

This project aims to facilitate an investigation through  multimedia storytelling, working together to explore, challenge and expand narratives on issues of culture, gender, identity and what it means to be who we are. 

 UPCOMING EVENTS: 

 

05/07/15:  KIND FOUNDATION & #iPledgeWP

 

 FOLLOW THE JOURNEY: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
No tags yet.
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
bottom of page