top of page

International Women's Day 2015

All around the world, International Women's Day represents an opportunity to celebrate the achievements of women while calling for greater equality. Every year on March 8th International Women’s day (IWD) is celebrated.

Brief History

  • The first IWD was held in 1911 in Austria, Denmark, Germany and Switzerland on 19 March.

  • In 1914 further women across Europe held rallies to campaign against the war and to express women's solidarity.

  • 1975 was designated as 'International Women's Year' by the United Nations.

  • 2000 + IWD has moved from being a reminder about the negatives to a celebration of the positives.

Why Purple?

  • From 1908, the Women's Social and Political Union (WSPU) in Great Britain adopted the colour scheme of purple, white and green to symbolize the plight of the Suffragettes.

  • Purple symbolized justice and dignity - two values strongly associated with women's equality.

  • The three colors were used for banners, flags, rosettes and badges to show solidarity.

Who celebrates it?

  • Organizations

  • Governments

  • Charities

  • Educational institutions

  • Women's groups

  • Corporations

  • Media

Ways to support online:

Make It Happen is the 2015 theme encouraging effective action for advancing and recognizing women.

Of course for International Women’s Day I want to highlight my mom.

She places her role as a mother first before her needs. My parents both decided early on in their marriage that she would stay at home and raise us. I believe her decision was valiant and selfless. The role of a stay-at-home parent is not easy and should be recognized and appreciated more then it is today.

It wasn’t until I moved out of my house that I realized how vital my mom was to my everyday life. I thought of myself very independent while living at home and felt prepared enough to continue doing so on my own. The experience has been humbling. My mom did little things for me in the house so that it could be ready for me to take. If I was sick she would take care of me, even if it’s just making me some tea and bringing it to me in bed. She would make sure we had laundry detergent, soap, shampoo, and the fridge stocked with essentials. These are just small examples but enough of difference that it has made while I have had to figure out when the best time to stock what I need, to cook (and how much to cook) or to even remember to have.

Above all materials, it was my mom’s warm welcome when I get home that I miss the most. Everyday after school she would ask me how my day went and what I learned. She carried this tradition on even in college. Even while I am not living at home, she will ask me when we speak on the phone.

Her role as my mother continues as I grow older. But that’s not all she does.

My mom is currently back in school for her certification in holistic healing. I couldn’t be more proud of her. She paused her dreams after she finished college and had three children. She continues to be an example for us and I hope to others as well.

My mom contines to #MakeItHappen.

Gracias, Mami. ❤︎

 THE MANIFESTO: 

 

This project aims to facilitate an investigation through  multimedia storytelling, working together to explore, challenge and expand narratives on issues of culture, gender, identity and what it means to be who we are. 

 UPCOMING EVENTS: 

 

05/07/15:  KIND FOUNDATION & #iPledgeWP

 

 FOLLOW THE JOURNEY: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
No tags yet.
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
bottom of page